Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Armchair Travels: Japan

Armchair Travels: Japan

Focus on Japan Series

2024-05-02 13:00:00 2024-05-02 14:30:00 America/Chicago Armchair Travels: Japan Join the Japan Information Center for an excursion to some of Japan’s most popular tourist destinations. Wilmette Public Library - Auditorium

Thursday, May 02
1:00pm - 2:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-05-02 13:00:00 2024-05-02 14:30:00 America/Chicago Armchair Travels: Japan Join the Japan Information Center for an excursion to some of Japan’s most popular tourist destinations. Wilmette Public Library - Auditorium

Join the Japan Information Center for an excursion to some of Japan’s most popular tourist destinations.

Japan Information Center staff will provide personal stories and photos as they guide you through the cities of Tokyo, Kyoto, and Hiroshima. Get tips for everything from riding the train and shopping for souvenirs to visiting shrines and dining Japanese-style! Printed pamphlets and brochures will also be available for attendees to take home.

Join us for other programs in our Focus on Japan series:

Origami Workshop for Adults, Tuesday May 7, 1pm Auditorium, Register

Japanese Aesthetics: Exploring Japan’s Artistic Sensibilities, Friday May 10, 2pm, Virtual, Register

An Introduction to the Japanese Garden, Thursday May 16, 1pm, Auditorium Learn More

Concert with The Chicago Koto Group, Sunday May 19, 2pm, Auditorium Learn More

 

Armchair Travels is generously funded with a gift from the Rutherford Family Trust.

 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Presentation |

TAGS: | |

Wilmette Public Library

Phone: 847-256-5025

Hours
Mon, May 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Sat, May 18 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 19 12:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

From the south: Go north on Green Bay Road. Turn left on Wilmette Ave. Turn right on Park Ave. Library is located on the corner of Wilmette Ave. and Park Ave. Parking lot is on the north side of the building. 

From the north: Go south on Green Bay Road. Turn right on Wilmette Ave. Turn right on Park Ave. Library is located on the corner of Wilmette Ave. and Park Ave. Parking lot is on the north side of the building.

From I-94 (Edens Expressway):from the South - exit at Lake Ave. East. Go east on Lake Ave. a little over 2 miles. Turn right on Park Ave. • from the North - exit at Rt. 41/Skokie Blvd. Turn left (east) on Lake Ave. Go east on Lake Ave. a little over 2 miles. Turn right on Park Ave. 


Mass transit options include CTA, Metra, and Pace.

Upcoming events

Sat, May 18, 9:30am - 3:30pm
Library Lawn

Sat, May 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Youth Program Room

Sat, May 18, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Youth Program Room
Registration is now closed

Sun, May 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, May 20, 9:30am - 12:00pm
Youth Program Room

Mon, May 20, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
The Studio

Tue, May 21, 9:30am - 10:00am
Youth Program Room

Tue, May 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
Youth Program Room

Tue, May 21, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Vestibule

Tue, May 21, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Youth Program Room

Tue, May 21, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Auditorium

Wed, May 22, 9:30am - 10:00am
Youth Program Room

Wed, May 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Youth Program Room

Wed, May 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, May 22, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, May 22, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
The Studio

Thu, May 23, 9:15am - 9:35am
Youth Program Room

Thu, May 23, 9:45am - 10:05am
Youth Program Room

Thu, May 23, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Adult/Teen

Thu, May 23, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Youth Program Room

Fri, May 24, 9:30am - 10:30am
Youth Program Room

Fri, May 24, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Zoom Adult/Teen

Sat, May 25, 10:00am - 10:30am
Youth Program Room

Sun, May 26, All day

Mon, May 27, All day

Tue, May 28, 10:00am - 10:30am
Auditorium

Wed, May 29, 9:30am - 11:30am
Youth Program Room

Wed, May 29, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, May 30, 9:30am - 11:30am
Youth Program Room

Thu, May 30, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Studio

Fri, May 31, 9:30am - 10:00am
Library Lawn

Fri, May 31, 9:30am - 11:30am
Youth Program Room

Sat, Jun 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Library Lawn